Always looking for animals

Sam, Katy, and Noggs in Africa

WFH–Working from Hawaii

Leave a comment

In geography, the antipode of any place on Earth is its antipodal point; that is, the region on the Earth’s surface which is diametrically opposite to it. Two points which are antipodal to one another are connected by a straight line through the centre of the Earth.

In February I went to Hawaii. The antipode of Honolulu is in smack in the middle of Botswana, which isn’t actually very far from us. So if I drove up the road to Botswana and parked the landy and got out our shovel and started digging and digging and digging and if I got all the way through and if I could withstand super hot temperatures and a lot of ocean on my head, I would be in Hawaii. Instead I got on a 35 hour flight from Johannesburg to Honolulu.

 

P1090086 (640x480) (640x480)

 

I went to Hawaii for one reason; the best reason – to see my family. My only nephew who I had never met was turning two. I hadn’t seen my brother or my parents in yonks and Russell was kind enough to let me go and Sam offered to man the fort at Lajuma. So off I went to WFH – work from Hawaii.

And I did work. I got things done that I never had time to do at Lajuma such as reading papers and writing an information pack for our new Research Assistants. I also had time to work on my PhD application.

In between WFHing I did a lot of enjoying being with my family and seeing Oahu. Here are a few pics.

Check out the amazing 2nd birthday cake that Jen made!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the zoo.                                            Eating lobster!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  P1090114 (640x480)

At Diamond Head with Mum.                 The view of Waikiki from the top.

P1090105 (640x480)P1090108 (640x480)

Visiting Pearl Harbour.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Luau!                                                    Japanese temple.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAP1090118 (640x480)

Making wax seals with Dad for my wedding invitations.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

