Always looking for animals

Sam, Katy, and Noggs in Africa

Rainy season

3 Comments

In  South Africa when it’s summer, it’s rainy. Kind of puts a damper on braais, beach trips and sun bathing.

It has been raining almost non-stop for 3 days which is unseasonably heavy. The small stream we cross to get up the mountain is overflowing.  

 

IMG_20130116_093400

IMG_20130116_093409

 

We have been living in wellies and our tent has the wet, damp smell of a dog in rain or a boy’s locker room.

The other day I went off the mountain for a meeting and slid a lot of the way down. Driving back up the dirt (mud) track in the dark, the landy slipped off the muddy road and into a ditch where I was stuck between a quagmire and a boulder. We left the landy at the side of the road overnight and in the morning Sam, Ian and Ticha went down to rescue it. The couldn’t get the landy out without levering the massive boulder out of the way so Sam could finally back the car onto the road again.

 

IMG_20130116_084128IMG_20130116_084137

 

And we thought England was wet…

Next week Japan, snow and snow monkeys.

3 thoughts on “Rainy season

  1. I leave a response when I appreciate a post on a blog or I have something to add to the discussion.
    It is triggered by the passion communicated in the article I looked at.
    And on this post Rainy season | Always looking
    for animals. I was excited enough to write a leave a responsea response 😉 I actually do
    have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be only me or do a few of these responses come across like they are written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are posting at other online social sites, I’d like
    to follow you. Could you list every one of your shared sites
    like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  2. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this
    website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

  3. Hello to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web
    site, and your views are nice in support of new users.

Leave a Reply

